skip to Main Content

Covalence uses 50 Environment, Social, Governance (ESG) criteria inspired by the Global Reporting Initiative‘s sustainability reporting guidelines as well as by the following international norms and conventions:

The 50 criteria are distributed across seven categories. The box below lists the seven categories together with examples of criteria:

  • Governance, Commitments and Engagement (Governance, Commitments to External Initiatives, Stakeholder Engagement)
  • Economic (Fiscal Contributions, Social Sponsorship, Wages, Local Sourcing, Local Hiring, Infrastructures)
  • Environmental (Energy, Water Management, Biodiversity, Emissions, Waste Management, Pollution)
  • Labor Practices and Decent Work (Employee Benefits, Trade Unions, Health and Safety, Training and Education, Diversity and Equal Opportunity)
  • Human Rights (Human Rights Policy, Discrimination, Child Labor, Forced Labor, Security Practices, Indigenous Rights)
  • Society (Local Communities, Humanitarian Action, Corruption, Lobbying Practices)
  • Product Responsibility (Product Safety, Marketing Communications, Social Impacts of Products)

The criteria have the following characteristics:

  • aligned to the Global Reporting Initiative’s sustainability reporting guidelines
  • based on widely accepted principles and not on specific ethical choices as a way to cope with diversity and pluralism
  • able of covering changing aspects of companies’ operations
  • able to cover the diversity of actions led by stakeholders as well as media coverage

The criteria should be seen as open boxes allowing to store and organize information on a case-by-case basis. Covalence ESG criteria are not sector-specific. They are designed to be relevant to any multinational company and can be used to perform cross-sector comparisons.

Download: Covalence ESG Criteria (.pdf)

While the data is first classified according to the 50 ESG criteria inspired by the GRI, it can be reclassified using other metrics such as the Sustainable Development Goals or the Peacebuilding Business Criteria developed by the PeaceNexus Foundation.

Back To Top